About Me

Troy in a canoe

Phase 1

I grew up on a farm with pigs, carrots, brothers, marigolds, cows, barley, trees, parents, wheat, kittens, and snowstorms. It was, and still is, in Saskatchewan, Canada, but I’m not.

My first computer was a TRS-80. My parents got it for me and my brothers at Radio Shack. You could write programs in BASIC. It was awesome.

The local libraries were okay; they had many books by Isaac Asimov. There was no World Wide Web. I was also involved with Scouts, piano, 4-H and hockey.


Phase 2

I studied applied mathematics, physics, and aerospace engineering in university, which was in Saskatoon, Cleveland, Toronto, and West Lafayette. I put more details on another page (Formal Education).

As a student, I had jobs with the Saskatchewan Accelerator Laboratory, the Defence Research Establishment Ottawa, COM DEV, Kingston’s Defence Operations Research group, Analog Design Automation, and Purdue University. (I was a research assistant and also taught math courses at Purdue.)


Phase 3

After grad school, I was involved with many projects on the web and in the virtual world Second Life. I developed software, produced exhibits, organized/promoted events, wrote blog posts, did research, managed websites, and various other things. Most of it was related to science or engineering.

Phase 4

I worked at BigchainDB GmbH (formerly ascribe GmbH) in Berlin, Germany from 2015 to July 2019. They are the main company behind Ocean Protocol.

Phase 5

Just getting started. Stay tuned!


Some of my relatives have websites: